Zwölfeläuten (The Silent Bell)
The Austrian province of Styria, March 1945. Based on the stage play by Heinz Rudolf Unger, The Silent Bell tells of the final days of WW II in a mountain village. Although peace is at the doorstep, war is still at the kitchen table. The forests already belong to the partisans, the roads are still controlled by the remnants of the Wehrmacht.
St. Kilian is covered by snow. The forester shoots at partisans, but they flee. However, their trail leads to the village. Directly to the church. The priest doesn't want anything to do with it, of course.
The SS takes away the church bells of all the villages – to be melted and made into weapons for the final victory. But old Mrs. Lindmoser can only rest in peace when the church bells ring at her funeral. On her deathbed she has promised Adolf a printing of The Guardian Angel if he'd see to it. The boy Adolf from the village, not Adolf the Führer. So little Adolf rings the bell – to get the guardian angel.
And he needs it urgently. The ringing awakens everyone – calves, dogs, and those dirty pigs. It's the moment for foul play. Whoever drops his mask too soon just might lose everything. Whatever you do, don't say what you think. Don't show what can be seen. Could be dangerous. Change to the winning side. But who will be the winner?
In the end it's the Russians who arrive at the village. Everything and nothing has changed. Everything's under control. Except for the past.

HS: "This one I especially like among my films. I put a lot of personal memories - discussions with my parents, my studies of political science – into it. Besides, I'm proud that this film clearly proved that so-called 'awkward' topics can find very large audiences on TV."

Zwölfeläuten
Steiermark, März 1945. Frei nach dem Bühnenstück von Heinz Rudolf Unger schildert Zwölfeläuten das letzte Zucken des Zweiten Weltkriegs in einem Bergdorf. Schon kratzt der Friede an die Tür, aber der Krieg sitzt noch am Küchentisch. Die Wälder gehören den Partisanen, die Straßen den Soldaten Hitlers.
Tiefschnee liegt über St. Kilian. Der Förster hat im Wald auf Partisanen geschossen. Sie sind ihm entwischt. Aber die Spur führt ins Dorf. Direkt zur Kirche. Der Pfarrer weiß natürlich von nichts.
Die SS nimmt den Dörfern die Kirchturmglocken weg. Kriegswichtiges Material, daraus kann man Waffen für den Endsieg schmieden. Aber die alte Lindmoserin kann nur in Ruhe tot sein, wenn bei ihrem Begräbnis die Glocke läutet. Dem Adolf hat sie für diesen Dienst ihren Schutzengel versprochen - dem kleinen Adolf aus dem Dorf, nicht dem großen aus dem Reich. Und der kleine Adolf läutet sie, die Glocke. Er will ja den Schutzengel.
Und er braucht ihn, dringend. Weil die Glocke schreckt alle auf – die Schweine, die Hunde und die Schweinehunde. Die Stunde der falschen Gesichter. Wer seine Maske zu früh fallen lässt, verliert vielleicht im letzten Moment noch alles. Nur nicht sagen, was man denkt. Niemals zeigen, was man sieht. Könnte gefährlich werden. Irgendwie auf die Seite der Sieger wechseln. Aber wer wird Sieger sein?
Am Ende sind die Russen im Dorf. Alles und nichts hat sich verändert. Alles ist bewältigt. Außer der Vergangenheit.

HS: "Dieser ist mir unter meinen Filmen besonders wichtig. In Zwölfeläuten ist viel von meiner Auseinandersetzung mit meinen Eltern, mit der Nazi-Zeit im Allgemeinen. Außerdem hat der Film ganz klar bewiesen, dass man die sogenannt ‚schwierigen’ Themen auch im Fernsehen so erzählen kann, dass es sehr viele Leute interessiert."