Freispiel (Replay)
Robert Brenneis would have loved to become a rock star. Today he's a music teacher. The fatal difference throws a dark shadow on his lust for life. What once looked like future is no more than yesterday's farce. Everything gets on his nerves – his job, his family, even summer vacation in Italy. The only thing Brenneis still enjoys is his guitar collection, a mirror of his self-pity.
Pokorny did well. People come in flocks to every beer tent between Munich and Vienna to hear him sing exactly what they want to hear. He has dumped all his ideals – and laughs all the way to the bank instead.
Pokorny is a friend from way back. One who used to be like Brenneis. Once. Now Pokorny is a star. And Brenneis still longs to be one. To old for rock 'n roll, too young to die.
Such a dilemma strains the brain. At least until Brenneis finally plucks up the courage to go meet Pokorny, backstage, after yet another stupid triumph. The night is cool, enthusiastic, drunken at first, then sober. The next morning Brenneis understands. Even successful people might end up as losers. Of course, this works the other way around, too ...

Musical midlife crisis, or: life as a guitar solo no one wants to hear. Replay is one of those comedies where a joke doesn't ask for hilarious laughter to hit home. A cross-section through the values of an enlightened audience which ridicules "Austropop" just as acerbic as the essentials of the liberal middle class and Vienna's artsy-fartsies.

HS: "My second feature film. There's this nice saying about second films – you get a lifetime to spend on the first one, and only two years, at best, for your second one. Alfred Dorfer and I didn't want to follow up with the same means that had made Mother's Day so successful. Replay attempts to transmit that it might more rewarding to live with the world, rather than against it. To me, as a long-time rock musician, the social background was particularly attractive."

Freispiel
Robert Brenneis wäre gern Rockmusiker geworden. Heute ist er Musiklehrer. Der Unterschied ist fatal und zeigt schlimme Folgewirkung auf die Lebenslust. Was einmal wie die Zukunft ausgesehen hat, ist längst nur noch Schmäh von gestern. Der Job nervt, die Familie nervt und der Urlaub an der Adria nervt auch. Spaß macht eigentlich nur noch die Gitarrensammlung, als Spiegel des Selbstmitleids.
Pokorny hat es geschafft. Der füllt sämtliche Bierzelte zwischen München, Wien und Bad Gastein. Der singt – zum Wohle seines Bankkontos, zur Freude seines Egos – genau das, was die Leute hören wollen. Stimmung statt Protest.
Pokorny ist ein Freund aus alten Tagen. Einer, der früher wie Brenneis war und heute anders ist. Pokorny ist ein Star. Und Brenneis will eigentlich immer noch einer werden. Zu alt für Rock’n Roll – zu jung zum Sterben.
So ein Dilemma bringt hochgradiges Hirnsausen. Zumindest solang, bis der Brenneis den Freund von früher trifft. Die Nacht ist halbstark, enthusiastisch, erst versoffen, dann ernüchternd. Am nächsten Morgen hat der Brenneis begriffen: auch erfolgreiche Menschen können als Verlierer enden. Umgekehrt gilt der Satz natürlich auch.
Musikalische Midlife Crisis oder: das Leben als ein Gitarrensolo, das keiner hören will. Freispiel gehört zu den Komödien, wo der Witz kein lautes Lachen braucht, um wirksam sein. Ein satirischer Querschnitt durch die Werte einer aufgeklärten Gesellschaft, der sich über die Austropop-Szene ebenso lustig macht wie über die Lebensnöte des liberalen Mittelstandes, über Wiens wehleidige Kreative und so weiter und so fort.

HS: "Mein zweiter Spielfilm. Es gibt einen klugen Satz über zweite Filme: Für den ersten hast du ein Leben lang Zeit, für den zweiten bestenfalls zwei Jahre. Alfred Dorfer und ich wollten nicht mit ähnlichen Stilmitteln arbeiten wie bei Muttertag. In Freispiel geht’s darum, dass man mit der Welt mehr bewirkt als gegen sie. Das Milieu war mir, als langjährigem Rockmusikanten, besonders reizvoll."